NYALGRO Board Meeting

March 18th, 2024 Harbor Hotel, Watkins Glen

Present: Desiree Potvin, President; Kerriann Harrington, Vice President/Education Chair;

Colleen Rathbun, Secretary; Rosemary Switzer, Treasurer; Karen Sweeting, Membership; Jessica McClennan; Megan Sokolow; Nicole Doherty; Jamie Niziol

Absent: June Patterson; Dave Lowry, State Archives; Emerit Donna Mumbulo,

Immediate Past President

President Potvin called the meeting to order.

I. Administrative Business:

- **a.** With regret the NYALGRO Board accepted the resignation of June Patterson, a motion was made by Jamie Niziol and seconded by Kerriann Harrington.
- **b.** Acceptance of the Minutes from the January 22, 2024, meeting in Alexandria Bay, a motion was made by Karen Sweeting and seconded by Megan Sokolow. President Potvin conducted a roll call of the board with the resulted in the motion being:

ADOPTED AYES 10 Potvin, Harrington, Rathbun, Switzer, Sweeting, McClennan, Shaler,

Sokolow, Doherty, Niziol

NOES 0

ABSENT 3 Patterson, Lowry, Mumbulo

c. Approval of Treasurer's Report

R. Switzer stated that our year-to-date balance is \$25, 488.51, a motion was made by karen Sweeting and seconded by Matt Shaler. President Potvin conducted a roll call of the board with the resulted in the motion being:

ADOPTED AYES 10 Potvin, Harrington, Rathbun, Switzer, Sweeting, McClennan,

Shaler,

Sokolow, Doherty, Niziol

NOES 0

ABSENT 3 Patterson, Lowry, Mumbulo

II. Committee Reports:

a. Newsletter

- If you want any information that you would like in the newsletter please get it to Rose by March 27. She will include all the conference materials.
- The Board will continue to support the mentor-mentee program in the newsletter.
- Rose started doing articles on Records Management and if you have any you would like to share please reach out to her.
- A notice will be put in the newsletter to encourage people to apply for scholarships.

b. Membership

Karen stated we have 286 members and 54 new members.

c. Scholarships/Awards

- Joann Lenhard-Boyce was unable to use her scholarship last year. We will
 reach to her to see if she would like to attend this year's conference. This
 is left over from last year.
- In order to qualify for an award you must be a member of NYALGRO, please nominate someone that you feel should be recognized.

d. Nominations/Elections

We have to fill an opening that we have on the Board.

e. IT/Website Committee

- President Potvin acknowledged what a great job Matt Shaler has done in creating our new website.
- Matt and Megan will work on tips for the website.

IV. 2024 Conference Planning:

a. Conference Timeline Review

- Kerriann made a list of all the speakers and courses for the June Conference.
- It was mentioned on having more round table discussions.
- Please send Nicole any materials that need to be printed out for the conference.

b. Conference Committee Update:

- Vendors
 - Colleen went over which vendors have confirmed to date 6 with 2 possible. Discussed maybe adding a few more vendors if current

vendors do not commit to this year's conference. We do have space for 10-12 vendors at this location.

- Registration
 - Karen went over the registration table. She will make sure she has all the supplies that she needs.
- Board Member Prizes
 - Will be handed out at lunch on Tuesday, these are from each board member. Nicole, Jamie and Colleen will distribute the baskets.
- First Time Attendee Welcome
 - It was discussed that this should be an hour long session. The acronyms should be explained at this session as well.
 - Jamie Niziol will be added to this committee.
- Activities/Networking
 - Jessica and Karen will be taking care of this.
 - Left, right, center is always fun.
 - It was mentioned about a scavenger hunt.

V. Old Business/New Business:

a. Location for 2025 Conference

- We received 7 quotes for hosting the 2025 Conference.
- A decision was made by the Board to hold the 2025 Conference at the Marriott, Lake George, June 8-11th.

VI. Board Member Comments

There we no comments.

VII. Adjournment

With no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Matt Shaler, seconded by Jamie Niziol, to adjourn the meeting. President Potvin conducted a roll call of the board which resulted in:

ADOPTED AYES 10 Potvin, Harrington, Rathbun, Switzer, Sweeting, Shaler, Sokolow Sokolow, Doherty, Niziol

NOES 0

ABSENT 3 Patterson, Lowry, Mumbulo